home >  categories >  ceremony venues >  the 1909 >  reviews

The 1909

Services:

Ceremony Venues

Phone: 424-272-1909 
1909 N Topanga Blvd, Topanga, CA 90290
 
Overall Rating
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
4.9/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
 
11 Total Reviews
 
Bristol
Wedding: 6/7/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The owners of the 1909 in Topanga, CA are William and Amir, and they are awesome!!! We were so blessed to have found The 1909 and work with such flexible and caring people. They really do love what they do, and they are not going to compromise their standards for money. They were extremely flexible with us - they even fit us in between two other weddings that weekend, and allowed us to come for a rehearsal right before the other wedding began setting up the day before. They have various packages that you can use for rentals - everything from tables and flowers, to food and a friend with a sound system! But besides the beauty of the grounds and the decor, the energy there is overwhelmingly peaceful and positive. It was the best place for the value, grounds, service, everything!!
Tara
Wedding: 10/20/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Wow, what a beautiful place to have as the backdrop for your big day. I feel blessed to have experienced this property as the setting for our wedding this October. The ambience, energy and landscaping made this place a photogenic opportunity. The great care that Amir provided for me and my husband was personal and attentive. I highly recommend this venue as an intimate wedding choice that you can cherish in years to come. Thank you.
Erika
Wedding: 8/25/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The 1909 is such a beautiful and unique place to have a wedding, the vibe is so warm and comfortable. We had the pleasure of working with William and he was so helpful and understanding to all of our requests. The venue offers so many possibility for a wedding, our wedding was absolutely amazing.
Sierra
Wedding: 8/3/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
A beautiful setting owned by amazing people. The 1909 was further than I wanted to be from home, but from the moment I walked on the property, I knew it was the spot I HAD to have for our wedding day. The space is huge & a perfect combination of natural surroundings with modern amenities. The building is gorgeous, with Irish knot inlaid on the stone & wood, high ceilings, built in bar, clean luxurious bathrooms, and a kitchen with an enormous fridge! We used the building for pre-cermony cocktail hour and post food dance party. And yes, there is A/C. The amphitheater allowed us to be married under an ancient oak tree without risking grandma falling in the dirt like some of the other rustic venues we looked at. The built in amphitheater also has the advantage of not renting or moving chairs. The view across the wooden deck is all trees and it made for amazing photographs with little effort needed on decoration. The setting was our decoration allowing for easy set up and break down. Lastly, there is a huge grass area, larger than many parks! We had picnic blankets and tables and a bar and two grills and we still had an entire half of the grass dedicated to games! There is also a secret table nestled amongst the trees where the newly married couple can hide & eat! (Do it!) Then there is the owner, Will. He is so genuine and kind hearted that i really think being a part of a wedding makes him happy. He is constantly upgrading the 1909. When we signed the contract there was no sound system, but by the time our wedding happened there was -not only in the building but also in the amphitheater and the grassy area! He responds quickly to inquiries and he is easy going while still being professional. If you are a couple looking for a natural setting, but don't want to rent a dance floor AND are willing to give up high heels, this is the place for you. Trust me- you will hear "best wedding ever" multiple times...
Private User
Wedding: 7/6/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
What a serendipitous discovery! After searching the entirety of LA County (not an exaggeration - I was a type A bride with a vision and a background in event production) we were thrilled to find The 1909 for our wedding ceremony. It's the hidden gem of LA wedding venues. We wanted something that could serve as a gorgeous natural backdrop for a highly customizable event - understated elegance with modern convenience that was accessible and legitimately affordable. We found that and more in The 1909. We chose the amphitheater for our wedding ceremony, brought in minimal decor and let the natural beauty of the venue do the rest. The grounds are beautifully landscaped & well-maintained. The staff is professional, courteous & highly amenable to making it work for you. The amenities were luxurious. Though we only did our ceremony there, the indoor/outdoor venue has ample space, and diverse areas as well as a bar & a pro kitchen to do just about anything you'd need. High on this bride's list in addition to having its own distinct and lovely 'vibe' is the fact that since it's a new venue, it hasn't been done a million times & featured on every industry-related site out there. In fact, it's still pretty underground. Get in before it gets discovered by the masses. You won't be sorry.
Eric
Wedding: 5/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our wedding celebration was a BLAST! It was everything we hoped for from the huge ballroom with a live swing band, to the outdoor and intimate ceremony in the amphitheater, to the outdoor barbeque with evening mood lights, lawn games, and a Gatsby-ish picnic. We worked primarily with Amir, who was insanely helpful and flexible with all our requests, but everyone we worked with associated with the venue was equally heplful and great to work with! I would suggest this to anyone and everyone. The process was easy, and the end result was as if it was out of a dream. 5 stars.
Louis
Wedding: 4/27/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My wife and I were married at The 1909 on April 27, 2013. We can't say enough about this venue. Our friends and family all agreed that they were blown away by the sheer beauty and atmosphere. We started with our ceremony in the amphitheater, our dinner in the meadow and dancing upstairs. It worked perfectly as a roving party. The sunlight shined down, little seeds pods floated through the air and the environment was magical. William went above and beyond to help us coordinate our big day, giving referrals and answering questions, setting up lights and rigging an incredible sound system outdoors. The place is fantastic, the service is impeccable and it's the perfect location for an outdoor, country rustic dream wedding. We have absolutely no complaints. All we can say is Thank You 1909!
Vanessa
Wedding: 3/30/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Hi our names are Vanessa, and Andre Brown, we recently had our wedding at The 1909 on March 30th 2013. One word that would describe this venue is AMAZING! Breaking down the five categories from quality to flexibility well go by each one. The "Quality of Service" that the 1909 provided was above average. Although the owner/s are not a wedding planner/coordinator they are there the day of to make sure that things are in order. From tables and chairs and even valet service nothing was missing. "Responsiveness"; The 1909 response to answering phones, and returning calls is great. Never had a communication problem, by phone or in person. The "Professionalism" is 100%. You will get your money worth from this place, from contracts to agreements of that day he will abide by them. The Value of the 1909 was priceless. The look on your families faces as they arrive will never be forgotten. Our ceremony was outside on the deck as our family sat on a small greek stadium. We also sat 120 people comfortably upstairs in the main room. The entire night was flawless, not a single problem occurred with this venue. The Flexibility of the 1909 was present. They are open to any suggestions you would have about your wedding. We would recommend this venue to everyone. The 1909 has a lot of great places were you can take amazing pictures. At night the owners turn on the lights that are hidden in the shrubs and trees, christmas lights make the back a lot more intimate. The 1909 gave us a night we would never forget. You must see this place, and once you do, you will automatically see your wedding there.
Samantha
Wedding: 12/21/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The 1909 located in Topanga Canyon is absolutely stunning. Every inch of the place is gorgeous. We were married this past December and it was simply a dream. The guys over there were so flexible, helpful and kind to our wishes. I couldn't speak more highly of the place and there staff.
Heidi
Wedding: 6/29/13
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about The 1909. We were EXTREMELY lucky to stumble upon this beautiful jewel in Topanga Canyon. The building is a gorgeous white two-story A-Frame that caught the attention of my architect husband and I as we were driving by. A tour of the property revealed an outdoor deck surrounded by simple, white amphitheater seating with a large tree soaring above it (nice for shade in the summer) and a meadow/lawn area with bistro lights strung above it. The entire area is sunk down off the road so it is completely hidden away. Our guests really enjoyed the lush surroundings and number of distinct areas to socialize. It was perfect for a variety of photos, too. We visited a NUMBER of times, and each time the owner Amir was SO accommodating. He was a tremendous help the entire time. Because they just started to take on weddings (the venue has been running as an event space for about 2 years now), some pragmatic issues were still in the works - the lights, sound system - even the contract was changing along-the-way. This made it a bit more work on our part, but hey, we didn't want a "wedding factory" type of venue, and Amir has SO much character, as did the venue, so it was DEFINITELY worth the extra work. Amir is there to service you and make sure you have a great time - he'll take care of you and he is extremely flexible! As time goes on, I'm sure they will develop a system so that on day one you will have a very clear understanding of what they provide/what is included and what you need to supplement/bring yourselves. My husband and I hope to use the 1909 again for another event in the future. It was so memorable. We would recommend the venue to only our closest friends (because it feels like a secret, and it would be great to keep it...
Joe
Wedding: 7/14/12
4.6 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.5/5.0
The building is a beautiful place for a variety of events - from concerts, to weddings and special gatherings. We hope to be doing more live shows there in the future! The management were very gracious, hospitable and did everything to not only make sure the event was a success, but that we were also comfortable. If you are planning an event, do yourself a favor and look at this beautiful facility. From its beautiful outdoor theater to its lovely deck overlooking the creek, it certainly has a dreamlike setting. -Joe Tansin, former member of the group "Badfinger," along with my long time singer/songwriter partner Dean Ford from the group "The Marmalade."
 
 
Find The 1909 reviews from newlyweds in Los Angeles that used The 1909 for Ceremony Venues services.