home >  categories >  ceremony venues >  castaway burbank >  reviews

Castaway Burbank

Services:

Ceremony Venues

Phone: 818-843-5013 
1250 E. Harvard Road, Burbank, CA 91501
 
Overall Rating
4.6 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.6/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.5/5.0
Professionalism:
4.6/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.6/5.0
Flexibility:
4.5/5.0
 
54 Total Reviews
 
Gina
Wedding: 7/12/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Castaways was absolutely fantastic! Matt and I enjoyed our experience fully. Everything for the ceremony and reception were included, the price was very reasonable for all of the services and food/beverage choices. The site is beautiful and was perfectly scenic for our wedding pictures. The staff is extremely nice and hard-working. They made everything so smooth for our wedding day, and there were no complications whatsoever. I recommend this site to anyone that wants a one-stop-shop wedding venue with amazing service and wonderful staff to help plan your wedding :). Thank you Castaways!
Victor
Wedding: 5/4/14
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Laura was our event planner and she was great. Laura walked us through eveything we needed for our event. She was very professional and knows her stuff. The venue was beautiful. We had our event in the evening. The food quality was superb and the quantity was just right. The staff was very quick on their feet to get things setup and also bring people their food. You get a lot for your buck at the Castaway.
Valerie
Wedding: 10/4/13
4.3 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
3.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
3.0/5.0
This venue's strongest point is value. You won't find a place in the LA area that gives you so much for your dollar that still delivers on ambiance and quality. Our planner, Danielle, was enthusiastic and super helpful and responsive. Everyone loved the food (and that's rare with weddings). Not to mention, the view at the ceremony is to die for. Not to mention champagne toast, food, cake, ceremony site, and reception hall are all included at ridiculously low per-person pricing. And if you get married on a week day, the pricing is even better!
Alisa
Wedding: 9/7/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
September 7, 2013 was the date of my Wedding ceremony and reception. From the beginning it was the perfect venue to host my wedding. Castaway was the first stop on our list in September 2012 on our venue scouting trip. We went to Sportsman lounge, Odyssey, Shanghai Reds, Orange Hill, but nothing could beat Castaway. The wedding packages they offered were right in our budget. Danielle (on site coordinator) was flexible, personable, and very easy to work with. She was timely with e-mails, phone calls, on site meetings, worked well with our wedding coordinators (The Double Knot,) coordinated the food tasting event, answered calls from family members and the countless other little things she made accommodations for. Danielle really made our decision easy with Castaway. The Wedding day came and went in a flash, but the ceremony and reception went flawless in our eyes. The food and service during the night was great. We had a choice of 5 appetizers, 3 Entrees (Filet Minion, Salmon, and Mushroom Ravioli), 2 hour open bar and cake. Not a complaint in the room. Castaway has a view of LA and Burbank unlike any place else that helped to seal the deal. It was a picture perfect wedding day. I highly recommend Castaway to any bride and groom. Thank you Danielle and Castaway.
Stacy
Wedding: 7/27/13
4.4 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Castaway was the perfect venue for me and my husband. During the reception and ceremony, the wait staff was beyond amazing making sure glasses were full and people were happy. They were very attentive to me and even brought me special appetizers when I told them that I missed out on the crab cakes! It was so sweet! They are true professionals! Everything flowed perfectly. The food was beyond amazing and the venue was beautiful. Everything looked awesome and I could not have been happier with the day. The only issues were prior to the event. I actually had to switch coordinators because of some differences in styles. But I ended up with Laura who was perfectly attentive and amazing. Also, the ceremony coordinator was a little late when it came to the rehearsal and the start of the ceremony even though we were all ready to go, but she had another wedding to start. Another issue was they told me that they would set up at 9am, but didn't completely set up until 1pm. But that seemed to be a miscommunication issue. But besides those issues, I was very...
Desiree
Wedding: 10/13/12
2.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
2.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
2.0/5.0
Professionalism:
2.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
2.0/5.0
Flexibility:
2.0/5.0
We were very disappointed with The Castaway after hearing many great reviews from friends and other reviewers! Our first meeting with our adviser, Mikalina was promising as we made our initial contact and had a few questions answered. However, after everything was booked with her we were told that she was transferred to another site. We ended up with Steve as our adviser and everything went down hill from there! He was unresponsive, unprofessional, and very difficult to work with. We had to send him several emails and follow the emails up with a numerous phone calls to make sure he received our message or to get an answer from him. No one has time for that in the midst of planning a wedding! After about a month of the nonsense, we asked for a new adviser. We ended up with Laura, the manager there. The planning after that was a lot better after that. However, on the day of the wedding, Laura had promised us time before the party started to set up our decorations. When our friends arrived, they had not yet cleared out the party before us and they weren't able to set up with the time that we had anticipated. The result - our wedding party scrambling to set everything up while our ~300 guests wait outside in the cold. Eventually, my wedding coordinator (a friend of mine) had to tell Castaway to serve the hor dourves outside in the cold while all the guests stood in line to get in! How tacky! When we got in, we also noticed that the first two rows on tables that were supposed to be our family's tables were all wrong! The venue is beautiful, there is not doubt about that. However, for the price you pay and the stress that comes from working with the Castaway staff - I would not recommend...
Jessica
Wedding: 9/1/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
After searching high and low for a venue that would offer everything on the spot for a good price, we decided to book the Castaway in Burbank. We worked with Mikalina and she did a great job answering all of our questions and panning out all of the little details. I was a little nervous about how things would turn out the day of the wedding, but let me say that the Castaway provided exceptional service the day of and I was so pleased with how everything turned out! We had our ceremony at the gazebo and reception in the Verdugo Room. The venue provided a beautiful backdrop for all the festivities and they were able to accommodate to all of our guests needs, especially due to the heat! From start to finish, the staff were so helpful and would regularly check in with us to make sure we had enough to eat and drink. They passed around hordourves like there was no tomorrow and we received soooo many compliments about the food and open bar! We rented chivari chairs and lighting from them as well and their prices beat all of the other vendors I've researched. Also, the cake from Cakery Bakery was awesome! Once you add all your personal touches, it really transforms the place. I highly recommend the Castaway if you want an all inclusive venue that provides everything at a reasonable price. Overall, we had a great experience and although this place is popular for weddings, I felt like our event was unique & special in every way and everyone had a blast. Hope this helps other brides!
Anonymous
Wedding: 8/4/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My wedding was a great success. I had the buffet and my guests all loved the food and how it was made. The place was gorgeous and I couldn't ask for more. They accommodated my wishes to the T. I love this place!
Christine
Wedding: 7/28/12
4.3 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.5/5.0
Professionalism:
4.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our wedding reception on July 28th was beautiful and we got a ton of compliments on the food, which we were pleasantly surprised by. Our event coordinators there, Mikalina Celani and Danielle Verdick bent over backwards to make sure everything was the way we wanted and dealt with all of our last minute changes and odd requests. I love those girls! The ONLY thing that was disappointing was that the room we had the reception in (the Mountain View) did not have enough power to efficiently run the DJ's booth and slide show. Our slide show was a COMPLETE disaster. It went up late because of all the technical difficulties then it played without the music which really is a huge part of the slide show itself. I spent months working on this slide show and putting in the music where it needed to be. I was told by both the Audio vendor and the DJ that they both had issues with the amount of power let into the room. My DJ was frustrated all evening. While everyone who worked there was wonderful and the food was great, I'm not sure I would recommend this place to anyone who is having a large wedding with lots of electricity...
Ami
Wedding: 6/22/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The castaway was so beautiful. The view is amazing. The food was absolutely wonderful...my favorite was the salmon! They gave us a complimentary appetizer and the staff was very helpful and friendly!!!
Michelle
Wedding: 4/21/12
3.4 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.0/5.0
Professionalism:
3.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
3.0/5.0
The venue is absolutely beautiful and breathtaking. The meal packages are actually a good deal since open bar is included in it. All our guests had a great time and the food was pretty good. The only downside is the responsiveness of the coordinator. The coordinator we had was nice and ended up accommodating our requests, but it took quite of pulling teeth and follow ups. Overall though, the venue and price is definitely good. We were very happy how everything turned out at the end.
V
Wedding: 2/19/12
4.6 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
3.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Absolutely beautiful! I worked with Steve, who was great to work with. He is very professional and returned phone calls right away. He helped everything go smoothly. I highly recommend working with him. Also, the wedding coordinator, Maureen is fabulous and helps a lot the day of. Location is great! Beautiful! Great views and really good food. Everything was almost perfect. A few little glitches that I would clarify with them if you decide to use this venue. I was over my head count by 2 people. I was fine with paying extra, however, not ok that the waiter told my guests at one table that he couldn't feed their kids because it exceeded the head count. Really unprofessional and I had to apologize to my guests. Also, one of the bartenders was trying to charge $13 for a beer to one of my guests. We had 2 bartenders, one was great, the other so-so. After 3 hours of open bar, I am sure he overcharged some the guests that already had too much to drink. Let's just say, one walked away with a hefty tip by overcharging drunk guests. If you clarify this ahead of time, everything will be great! I think everything turned out beautiful and everyone else commented about how beautiful this venue was. (The other waiters and the other bartender were great).
catherwg
Wedding: 1/21/12
4.7 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.5/5.0
Professionalism:
4.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.5/5.0
We had our ceremony outside at the Gazebo and Reception in the Verdugo Ballroom. It was supposed to rain the whole day on the day of our wedding January 21 2012 so we had to have plan b incase it rained. I wanted to have the cocktail hour outside because I felt like our florist and lighting team needed time to prepare and setup the reception room. I worked with Catering specialist Zarin. She was kind and returned my calls promptly. On the day of the wedding it rained earlier in the morning and luckily it cleared up for our 5 pm ceremony outdoors. Zarin understood beforehand that I wanted the cocktail our outdoors if it didn't rain. After the ceremony it was already dark and very windy. All of the guests were cold but I still wanted to have the cocktail hour outdoors because the harpist who played at the ceremony was outdoors and would have to move her large and heavy instrument indoors and I also felt like the florist needed more time to setup. After the ceremony Zarin said the bar is not setup outside and that the guests were all cold and wanted to come indoors. I reminded her of our conversation and agreement and still wanted the cocktail hour outside. Zarin insisted that I have it inside. Finally I agreed because it was extremely windy, dark and quite cold outside and didn't want my guests to suffer. Zarin and Maureen (the ceremony coordinator) were quite helpful and understanding with our requests. The Castaway was quite flexible when it came down to the package. My Uncle made my wedding cake so they allowed me to make another selection. Luckily I also booked my date before they moved up the prices and took things out of the packages. Overall good experience. Reception supervisor I believe Francisco was very friendly professional. HE always had a smile on his face.HAd a beautiful wedding and everyone still talks about how elegant and beautiful it was. Flowers lighting and dj/mc make a world of difference! Make sure you book the right vendors! OVerall has a great experience and I am a very detail focused bride and everything turned out beautifully.
DisneyLover
Wedding: 1/14/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
If you are getting married at the Castaway, make sure Zarin is your coordinator. She is a gem! I was a little worried about getting married at a "marriage mill" but she made us feel special and made our event seem like the only one at the venue. Our theme was the night sky, so getting married in a location overlooking all of the city at night was perfect. The room was beautiful, the guests were stuffed (so many food choices and all delicious!), the waitstaff was exceptional. My wedding was better than I dreamed!
Addar
Wedding: 10/11/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Absolutely love this place! From the food, to the reception area, to the waiters and our coordinator Mikalina... Everyone was great... Mikalina was very helpful and is is very open to ideas... She was easy to work with and answered my emails right away. To think that she is new to the Castaway. Our head waiter Francisco was great too. Thanks Castaway for making our wedding beautiful =)
Stephanie
Wedding: 9/17/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception at the Mountain View room at the Castaway and our ceremony at the gazebo. The ceremony was absolutely beautiful... such a pretty location. Its a beautiful venue with lots of places to take wedding pictures. and our reception was perfect! The staff did a great job during the reception, eveything came out right on time and my guests said the waitors and the bartenders were very friendly. Everything was so much better then I even imagened. The food was also excellent! I worked with Steve from the Castaway while planning and he was a pleasure to work with. The ceremony coordinator Maurin was also great to work with and she made sure our ceremony ran smoothly. I couldn't be happier with how everything turned out, the wedding was a dream come true!
Liezl
Wedding: 9/10/11
4.2 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
3.0/5.0
They were always a phone call away, but during the ceremony the ceremony coordinator gave a couple slip ups and wasn't always on top of things. Their food was amazing and for the cost it was definitely a great deal. There were things that we couldn't add to our reception but they added it without charging us, which was the awesome of them to do for us. The wedding expectations blew me away.
ChristinaJones3
Wedding: 9/9/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
It was the perfect location for our wedding and the views were beautiful !!! Our wedding was amazing and everything we imagined. The Castaways was wonderful and easy to work with VERY professional, punctual, friendly and affordable. Zarine and Maureen were great to work with I would recommend this venue to everyone !!
Private User
Wedding: 7/17/11
3.5 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
3.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.5/5.0
Professionalism:
3.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
3.0/5.0
We had our wedding on July 17th and loved it! There are some definite pros and cons to having your wedding at Castaways in Burbank. First pros- Castaway was a beautiful wedding and reception venue. We highly suggest you book the Gazebo because it really was fabulous. It can book up fast and the alternative is the patio which is not nearly as nice. The servers on the day of the wedding were great. As soon as the ceremony ended they were there waiting for the bridal party with h'ordearves and drinks. The h'ordearves were tasty too. We had bacon wrapped shrimp, beef satay, and artichoke heart pastries. My guests thought the dinner was great, (salmon or prime rib). I had the Salmon and have to agree, it was really good. At night the venue has amazing views of the city below and we were fortunate to have had our cocktail hour outside in the back of the gazebo area. If you can try to do this for any summer/ early fall wedding. It really added a fun, classy feel to our wedding. Now for some of our Cons- Let's start with the marketing staff..... we originally had a girl named Kim who was somehow transferred to a different position halfway through our planning. She was nice but it was awkward to have to get a new person to handle our wedding and not be told why or be told that someone else was handling the planning. Then when we got a new person... Susie, we really liked her.... she got transferred too, and we found out ON THE DAY of our wedding. This did not really effect us since we had a planner but apparently our planner had to sort out a lot of contract information because of that. If you can... ask for Leslie, she seems to know what she is doing and is always around to help. In fact she helped us out a few times when we came and our other two were "unavailable." In summary...... Castaway Restaurant in Burbank is a beautiful location to have a wedding, with great service. However the marketing and event staff have a lot of communication issues to work out. I'm sure if you can get with someone who is not going anywhere you will be fine. All in all everything worked out perfect for the wedding! Oh, one more thing.... DO NOT use the Castaway preferred vendor list!!!! We can't stress this enough!!! The ONLY one we found that was great was the harpist Corina. She was fantastic, if you need a reasonably priced and good harpist call her! Other than her the other vendors were not good!
Michelle
Wedding: 6/11/11
4.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception here, in the Lagoon Room... Overall we were happy with the waiters' service... I HATE the fact that a cash register was placed right on top of the Bar, the main table (Bride and Grooms table) right next to the bar. First off when I walked in coming from our beautiful Cathedral ceremony, into our Reception I see this huge clunky cash register, NOT KIDDING it was very noticeable! Even though our menu included an open bar till 10:15 (4 hrs) the cash register there was soooo unecessary and even tacky b'cuz some of our guest thought we had a cash bar, where the guests pay for their own drinks, this caused some emberrassing unecessary confunsion. If I could upload a pic here I would to show how the cash register made its way to a many of our wedding pictures -I should sue the restaurant and make them pay for the photographer for pictures ruined!!!!!! On one picture of my mom and stepfather the cash register is RIGHT ABOVE MY MOM'S HEAD! and this annoys me so much b'cus my mother will not take picutes, so this was one of the few we had of her... I totally understand if they need to have a cash register for after the open bar hours are over.... BUT they could of brought out after that specific time AND be descrete where to place it! I swear maybe 1-2 of our guests actually went to purchase a drink once the 4-hr open bar was over... which begs the question: WAS THAT UGLY CLUNKY THING REALLY NECESSARY????????????? Would I recommend to a friend or have a future event at Castaway.... that's a good question.... I'd only consider if Management at Castaway starts paying more attention to details by handling the cash register in a more classy and descrete...
 
 
Find Castaway Burbank reviews from newlyweds in Los Angeles that used Castaway Burbank for Ceremony Venues services.